Learning Japanese Downtown

こんにちは everyone.

Finally, I get around to write a post again. Once more I like to bow deeply and say すみません to all of you. This whole broken bone deal brought things out of balance and my usual learning schedule suffered, simply because I have to take care of many other things, which take longer now, as I can only use one hand.

But enough lamentation! What have I been up to in regards to learning Japanese?

For starters, I have shifted to watch a lot more Japanese lately. I am more of a “learn-by-writing” type of person (that is, write by hand) but since that is out of question for at least 6-8 more weeks, I am starting to pay even more attention to what I am watching.

This in turn, brought back an old love for a show called ダウンタウンのガキの使いやあらへんで!! (Downtown no Gaki no Tsukai ya Arahende!!) or simply Gaki no Tsukai.

I came across this show 5 years ago and loved it ever since. The Batsu Games in particular, offered wonderful entertainment to me. Thankfully, these were all available with English subtitles, which in turn made me pay little attention to the spoken Japanese. Now, however, given my serious intent to learn the language, I watch the show with a new found joy and enthusiasm. Like I said above, I pay special attention to the spoken word now, working on learning proper pronunciation, and, simply put, just getting a feel for the way Japanese people talk (granted, this is a comedy driven TV show, but still).

Watching the show now, I pick up lots of small tidbits of information, the way certain words can be pronounced, how one could react to a situation (from serious to silly) and not to mention many interesting facts about the Japanese Culture in general. And while I don’t get all the references, nor recognize most of the celebrities, I cannot help but laugh when grown men act like little kids.

So, yeah, my learning right now consists mainly of watching Japanese TV shows. Once I got most other areas back in order, I will start learning with renewed vigor again.

Also, it’s way too hot right now (43 degrees celsius/109 degrees Fahrenheit) and so basically I am having an all day siesta.

Until next time :)

Leave a Reply

